best seller!


The Life and Times of Jesus of Nazareth

Σύνοψη του βιβλίου "Zealot"

Who was the Jewish peasant who, two thousand years ago, walked across what is now Palestine to gather followers with the goal of establishing the Kingdom of God? Balancing the Jesus of the Gospels against the historical sources, Aslan describes a man full of conviction and passion, yet rife with contradiction; a man of peace who exhorted his followers to arm themselves with swords; an exorcist and faith healer who urged his disciples to keep his identity a secret; and ultimately the seditious "King of the Jews" whose promise of liberation from Rome went unfulfilled in his brief lifetime. Aslan explores the reasons why the early Christian church preferred to promulgate an image of Jesus as a peaceful spiritual teacher rather than a politically conscious revolutionary. And he grapples with the riddle of how Jesus understood himself, the mystery that is at the heart of all subsequent claims about his divinity. Zealot yields a fresh perspective on one of the greatest stories ever told even as it affirms the radical and transformative nature of Jesus of Nazareth's life and mission. The result is a thought-provoking, elegantly written biography with the pulse of a fast-paced novel: a singularly brilliant portrait of a man, a time and the birth of a religion.

Συγγραφέας/εις: Aslan Reza
Κατηγορία: θρησκεία
ISBN: 9781908906274
Ημερ/νία έκδοσης: 12/08/2013
Εκδότης: The Westbourne Press
Εξώφυλλο: Hardback
Σελίδες: 299
Τόπος έκδοσης: London
Χώρα έκδοσης: United Kingdom
Βάρος βιβλίου: 568 gr
Διαστάσεις βιβλίου: 24x3x16 cm
Λεπτομέρειες εικονογράφησης: illustrations, 1 map


Contents: Author's Note Introduction Part I Prologue: A Different Sort of Sacrifice Chapter One: A Hole in the Corner Chapter Two: King of the Jews Chapter Three: You Know Where I Am From Chapter Four: The Fourth Philosophy Chapter Five: Where Is Your Fleet to Sweep the Roman Seas? Chapter Six: Year One Part II Prologue: Zeal for Your House Chapter Seven: The Voice Crying Out in the Wilderness Chapter Eight: Follow Me Chapter Nine: By the Finger of God Chapter Ten: May Your Kingdom Come Chapter Eleven: Who Do You Say I Am? Chapter Twelve: No King but Caesar Part III Prologue: God Made Flesh Chapter Thirteen: If Christ Has Not Been Risen Chapter Fourteen: Am I Not an Apostle? Chapter Fifteen: The Just One Epilogue: True God from True God Notes Bibliography